• Join Home Gardening Forum

What kind of Irrigation do you use?

wolffman

Sponsor
Plus Member
Planting Zone
I am interested in what types of irrigation setups y'all use. I have been using drip tape irrigation for the last many years, and it has worked well for us. It has it pros and cons which I'll list below.

Pros:

Can water a very large area with low GPM requirement
Very efficient, almost all the water goes to the roots
Fairly easy to set up, but does take some time.
No water on foliage
It's repairable with cheap parts

Cons:

Storing the tape can be messy. It wont roll up nicely after use
Rats will chew holes in it
Moderately expensive initial investment
Tape must be fairly close to the plant base. May have to run 2 parallel tapes on wider rows.

We buy our stuff from https://www.berryhilldrip.com/. They have the best prices I could find.
drip.jpg

w_r_ranch

Master Gardener
Administrator
Plus Member
Planting Zone
8b
I put in a totally new in-ground system (utilizing 1" pipe) 2 or 3 yrs ago, complete with an EZ-Flo injection system. The main garden has 4 zones & each sprinkler head has custom nozzles installed to balance the amount of water each puts out. Each riser is insulated & wrapped in 'F4' tape to prevent freeze damage & I have the ability to drain the entire system when needed.

This system services not just the garden & flowerbeds, but all the fruit & oak trees as well.

wolffman

Sponsor
Plus Member
Planting Zone
That's really nice Ranch! I assume you are on well water, do you ever have problems with the EZ flow and well water? I have looked into them in the past but was worried about stuff clogging up the venturi on the injector.

w_r_ranch

Master Gardener
Administrator
Plus Member
Planting Zone
8b
No problems at all with it...

I use it to apply water soluble fertilizer (15-30-15), fungicide (copper crystals) & insecticides (when needed). Additionally, I use it to apply Bio-Stimulant Soil Conditioner (with 6% Iron) once or twice a year.